Destination Happiness

tam-mamiHow happy are you?  Do look for reasons to be happy? are smiles linked with happiness.

Am I Happy of course not, to introduce myself in the style of my favourite cowboy Quick Gun Murugan…

“Mango meadows is where I stay, 91 springboards is where I play, Chinnathambi is my name I say” lets discreetly overlook the fact that Chinnathambi is not my name either but what is this obsession with Happy I say?

I mean Akshay Kumar calls himself  Happy, then Happy bhag gayi, and Happy phir se bhag gayi, what rot. Listen to me, while  I tell you Happy  cannot run away, for Happy is state of mind.  To put is Simbly… you can only experience happiness.

I documented my quest for happiness and epiphany that followed  in my post “joy to the world…in 30 days.” Listen to the people who tell you stories of the tragedies of their life, how they enjoy the morbidity the sense of helplessness. How they lap the up sympathy that you pour at them. They are so happy in their apparent unhappiness.

Over the years of teaching the Rasa theory, and Bhava, Vibhava and Anubhava to the students of Bharatnatyam or classical drama I have never come across happiness or Ananda as an emotion. Of course  Ananda or Bliss like everything in this world, illusionary and transitory.  So may be happiness is a destination.

Physiologically of we could talk of muscle vibration, heartbeats and endomorphs being released. Again all those details are documented in the above mentioned post.

So do I go looking for it—not really, one learns to recognize it. I learn this is the state of “Anantandam.” We could take baby steps by using Pop-Glossop’s chart for 21 days. Somewhere you will recognize what is your state of happiness.

Amused Joyful
Anticipate Kindness
Awestruck Lively
Balanced Love
Blessed Mellow
Celebrated Motivated
Cheerful Optimistic
Confident Peaceful
Content Playful
Giving Relieved
Helpful Satisfied
Honourable Social
Hopeful Spiritual
Humour Thankful
Inspired.

You could step out experience some other state for a while, but you will return to that state.  Are smiles linked to happiness.  Pop-Glossop also told us about emotions translating into body manifestations.

Let’s look at this way, Chits smirks at me, smirking is a smile that says “Yeah she slipped up” now that would probably make Chits feel superior to me, in turning giving her that moment of happiness. Will I smile back at her empathizing and sharing her happiness of course not. I probably would get furious. A quick hijacking of Pop-Glossop’s lecture on smiles.

Pop Glossop gave us a dignified Classification of the smile, he called them.

The happy smile.

The fake smile, which is not supported by the eye, or there could be a total lack of eye contact.

The uncomfortable smile or a polite smile to cover discomfort. Particularly if someone says something inappropriate.

The seductive smile that makes eye contact with a delicate raise of the corner of the lips, this could be accompanied either by the dominant Royal come here command, of a demure, coy tilt of the head.

Finally the sarcastic smile of upturned lips the giveaway happens with the eye.

indispire
This blog is written for the weekly prompt on Indiblogger indispire#259

For more you should read up my post know thy smile, or even Lo behold I smile could help.()

End of the day, happiness like Khalistan is a state of mind. The perception, and choice to reach it is yours. No matter what ignites  or inspires the smile, and what the smile communicates, the underlying emotions of  the smiling person is happiness.

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Destination Happiness

Add yours

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑