Generation Gap

the generation gapBlogger, Author Sharath Komarraju, wants our inputs on the  Generation gap

“I suppose every generation has a conceit of itself which elevates it, in its own opinion, above that which comes after it. (“The Open Door”)”
Margaret Oliphant, The Gentlewomen of Evil: An Anthology of Rare Supernatural Stories from the Pens of Victorian Ladies

A difference of attitudes between people of different generation, most of the new genre of Indian authors seems to be dealing with it. Why talk about the new authors, right from the time Indian Cinema has been launched the theme of “Nav jawaan” their “umeed” and “aasha” have been the themes as have much touted “sense of revolution.”

What is new that I can tell about it–  let me figure what incidences drove home a generation difference in my life–

It was summer vacation, and all of us got together with our kids. My younger daughter was about fourteen. We were all discussing some work distribution at the hospital. I happened to mention, ”division of labour is important. ” my fourteen year old daughter and fifteen year old niece giggled the typical teenaged “I am embarrassed giggle.” For them the word labour was associated only with pregnancy and delivery using it in the context of “work” just did not click.

Another episode was when I was teaching “I said Lalita Nayaka—would roughly translate to a hero you is young and gay” the class sniggered, for their generation gay meant something totally different.

Talk about writing, people of my generation would use gestures to simulate a pen and the generation today would use gestures that convey typing.

When my parents generation spoke in hushed tones about “war time” they meant world war, for me it was the indo-Pak war for my daughters it is Kargil.

Difference of attitudes between people of different generations, does happen and should happen else it means the society is stagnating. The young pity their elders, fearing the day they, too, will join the ranks. The elderly pity the young, knowing well the trials and tribulations that lie ahead of them.— That’s life.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑