And That Little Dream

travellerI have a dream, a song to sing …

There is nothing like a dream to create the future.”
― Victor HugoLes Misérables

Twenty years from you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did no. so throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbour, catch the trade winds in your sails, explore, dream, discover, more important, accept and render gratitude for every opportunity.

Like the folk singer and the oral poet Sarah Kay Lee, I wanted to be a princess, ballerina astronaut, but she eventually figured she could not. Well, maybe she didn’t realize that she could adopt an Tiger mom from Bay Area. Lets not go there, well there were so many things I would want to do, but at the end of the day I guess I just wanted to be  different from the others.

Sometimes, I think I don’t want whatever I want. Nobody really does, what kind of fun would it be if I just got everything, I ever wanted just like that and it didn’t mean anything… what then… well we are not talking wanting here we are talking dreaming.

I have had good innings, satisfying various dreams that I had, A good practise as a dentist, a very creative phase as choreographer and movement designer which I did along with the dental practise, as I moved towards hypnotherapy and writing I am satisfied there too.

Yes there are some secret visions that are still to be realized, so here is what I have done about it, took a Saturday off, made a list of all those things that I  have always dreamt of doing, then prioritized them in the order of the passion that they trigger in me, started working on it, be it 10mnts before bed routine of painting, or whatever, it is just about doing something.

Sometimes I realize that it was not really as great as I imagined that it would be, some have taken me on destinations further than what I anticipated.map reading

What I had to do was very simple, first and fore most release myself from tyranny of “this or that” I had to understand the power of “And,” then came acknowledging all that I wanted to do, from there the journey has been wonderful.

So no matter what your age or life path, whether turning your dream into your career, hobby or just weaving it into your current profession, it is not too late or too egotistical or selfish, nor is it too silly to be worked on. The refrain I have experienced and heard is “ do you know how old I will be by the time I really learn to do what I want, doubt I will long enough to climb everest… well the answer is the same age you will be if you don’t, of course with a part of you hankering for something. Just leap and the net will appear.

nanowrmo

this article is an excerpt from my NANOWRMO writing.

Think delight, think fun, do not think duty, not what you should …spiritual sit ups like reading a dull intellectual text, do what intrigues you, explore what interests you, think mystery not mastery, at the moment I am satisfying my dream of learning carpentry.

Here is sharing Karthika Reddy CEO Facebook operations India’s take https://parwatisingari.wordpress.com/2014/12/31/overthrowing-the-tyranny-of-or/

https://parwatisingari.wordpress.com/2015/01/17/accommodating-and/

This post is a part of Write Over the Weekend, an initiative for Indian Bloggers by BlogAdda.’

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sara
    Jul 25, 2016 @ 20:08:32

    Yes,doing something for fun without age considerations is the key to happiness.Well-penned!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

