The Rule Of Three

rule of threeThree significant immensely necessary skilful values that I want to impart to my kids or the next generation to sustain in this world.

Hmmm

There are quite a few triads, like

  • Live and let live – again grandma knows best.
  • Pause, take a deep breath and delegate – shared by my brother.
  • stop, rest, listen

Lets get serious, to give something, I should own and I would need to think… It’s not hard to make decisions when you know what your values are.”  Like― Roy Disney said, but what are my values, Dorothy Parkar has run an inventory for us.  But is it valuable enough to be bequeathed?trinity

Inventory:

“Four be the things I am wiser to know:
Idleness, sorrow, a friend, and a foe.
Four be the things I’d been better without:
Love, curiosity, freckles, and doubt.
Three be the things I shall never attain:
Envy, content, and sufficient champagne.
Three be the things I shall have till I die:
Laughter and hope and a sock in the eye.”
― Dorothy ParkerThe Complete Poems of Dorothy Parker

three monkey'sI do not know I would hand down values, like handing down maps, values are not buses, they are not supposed to get you anywhere, they just define who we are, and if we are really honest, sooner or later we have to confront our values. Then we are forced to segregate what is right from what is merely legal. This puts us metaphysically on the run. We seem to slowly creating lot of metaphysical outlaws.

Chaitali, conforms to the challenge of three in every hero’s cycle.. Incidentally a hero’s cycle is the journey of a hero confronting his values. A candle a book and a peaceful person the three candles for the world, look at the numerical three. Mathematics expresses values that reflect the cosmos, including orderliness, balance, harmony, logic and abstract beauty.three wise men

Think of three, three wishes, three boons, three Biblical kings, three witches of Macbeth, three pigs of the fairy tales the list is endless. Three a fascinating number, the first odd prime number

If you look at theology you come across the father-son-holy spirit of Christianity, and vayu-varuna-agni of the Vedic trilogy, the brahma-vishnu-maheshwara of later Hinduism,

This could be because the somewhere three is the first number to give us a sense of collection. My mother called it the rule of three, be it math, or be it writing

nanowrmo
this article is an excerpt from my NANOWRMO writing.

In math it would be if  xàY then zà? So we would have to go, (zxy)/x. This is so imbibed that it has become default thinking.

  • It is more interesting when it comes to literature think of the catch words “hop-skip-jump,” ” Eat, pray and love.

 

I could go on, but three is not the hurdle is the passing of values is the prompt is about. To be honest what I would share is .. “Three simple rules in life: If you do not go after what you want, you’ll never have it. If you do not ask, the answer will always be no. If you do not step forward, you will always be in the same place.”  Through a   Ethical will https://parwatisingari.wordpress.com/2016/05/20/ethical-will-passing-on-values/

Prompt  three significant and immensely necessary skilful values you want to impart to your kids or the next generation to sustain this world.promt by  Chaitali Bose Bhattacharjee —  http://www.chaitalibhattacharjee7.com/

 

5 thoughts on “The Rule Of Three

Add yours

  1. The rule of three or power of three is a writing principle that suggests that things that come in threes are funnier, more satisfying, or more effective than other numbers of things. The reader or audience of this form of text is also thereby more likely to remember the information.

    That para is plagiarised 🙂

    I like your take on the rule of three.

    1. Matheikal, that damn para… the rule of three for a long time I thought was copyrighted by the math teacher’s community. It much later I discovered that it was a rule from literature.

  2. That’s an interesting way to put it…..quite honestly I am a mom to a seven year old and I definitely wanted as much worldlywise ideas and views which will enrich me…..the rule three ….very mundane I can ask for many but less is more for me and to keep it simple and lucid too.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

