Loke’d

nanowrmo
this article is an excerpt from my NANOWRMO writing.

Sameera Reddy is your typical Andhra girl, who missed the spice in her food when she shifted to the urban health conscious upmarket university at Pune.

The only thing she could do was to go right into the kitchen on Sunday when the kitchen staff let her sneak it and make the food she wanted.  The other miss my Andhra food students joined her on those days.

This Sunday is was Bagara Baingan, each time Sameera returned from Hyderabad a stash of Joshi masala was essential. After cooking she had arranged the Baingan in a bowl, kept the roti’s beside it and not mention the spicy rasam and rice.

When we entered the mess we saw the  SAT (Sunday Andhra Table) in place, and seriously Anju walked up to it, picked out a marker and drew a square around it like a shout out sign, the shout out appeared to be coming from a skull resting on two bones.  Below it she wrote, “The ghost who walks was here.” this was something harmless and even mundane but we found it amusing.

amul
Mischief of the slippery Kind- image courtesy Google

Sometimes I think one has to do a Shakespeare and say,  “Now let it work. Mischief, thou art afoot. Take thou what course thou wilt.” –― William ShakespeareJulius Caesar

There are times when I visualize or should I say audiolize…? … a woman’s voice saying, if you have reached this message and were not trying to contact Persis Kambatha,

loki
Loki the Nordic god of mischief Imagae courtesy Google

Then I know three things about you, one that someone just tooled you and never wants to see you again.  Two you’re probably culturally illiterate enough not to know that this message is a song. And three you will never tell another human being about this humiliating prank. So the number trick can be continued indefinitely. If however you called for Moi, then say something to amuse me after the beep.

…just as the person is about to unleash his wrath in a message a computerized voice says “Mailbox full”

A prank is a trick played as a joke, it is supposed to be funny at times they can be malicious. It’s hard to enjoy a practical joke when your whole life feels like one.  yet I do feel like saying… up to no good – and pleased about it.

The Nordic Mythology actually accepts and acknowledge by designating a God of Mischief, Loki. When you are down and out, just think of Loki, slowly and clearly announce his name to the universe, you will feel charged with a sense of anticipation and adventure, it is like your heart is refuelled and you smile. That is the magic of mischief managed.

I strongly and firmly believe that the poem “Jack in the Ink pot” is the anthem of everyone Loki’ed or Loki’ing

jack in the inkpot
image courtesy Google

I dance on your paper,
I hide in your pen,
I make in your ink-stand
My little black den;
And when you’re not looking
I hop on your nose,
And leave on your forehead
The marks f my toes.

When you’re trying to finish
Your ‘i’
With a dot,
I slip down your finger
And make it a blot;

And when you’re so busy
To cross a big ‘T’
I make on the paper
A little Black Sea.

I drink blotting-paper,

wow
This post is a part of Write Over the Weekend, an initiative for Indian Bloggers by BlogAdda.

Eat penwiper pie,
You never can catch me,
You never need try!
I leap any distance,
I use any ink,
I’m on to your fingers
Before you can wink.

Prompt :            The Prank I Played      2016-04-02    Blogadda

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

