A day with Queen Ma-hmm

wizard of Id-image courtesy google.
wizard of Id-image courtesy google.

A day out with  favourite comic character.

My favourite comic character is “Queen Ma-hmm” she emerges from the frothy foam of espresso coffee machine.” she awakens, inspires and sustains me my doctor and lawyer swear she kills me. But lets face it no one can appreciate it until one has really experienced the frothy goodness of coffee.

Comics are the gateway drug to literacy, and essentially deal with two fundamental communicating devices, words and images. Admittedly this is an arbitrary separation. But since in the modern world of communication they are treated as independent disciplines, it seems valid. Actually they are derivatives of a single origin and in skilful employment of words and images lies the potential of the medium.

I did debate over all my favourite friends Mozzie from the Idiot box, the Wizard of Id from the print world….

I turned on my coffee maker and sat in front of my laptop, began to pound.  The coffee entered my stomach and straightway there was a commotion. Ideas began to move like the battalions of the grand army of the battle field and the battle takes place. Things arrived at full gallop ensuing to the wind. The light cavalry of comparisons delivered a magnificent deploying charge the artillery of logic hurried up their train and ammunition the shafts , the shafts of with start up like sharp shooters, similes’ arise the screen is covered with characters. My drawing board is alive with a picture, for the struggle commences and is concluded with torrents of black water, just as a battle with powder. …. The narrator I see is wielding a book, “The Pleasures and Pains of Coffee” this vision told me was the driving the spirit in her, I dare not ask her who she was, and why was she interrupting my idyllic yet soul-splitting decision of who should I write about. I realized it was not about the characters I came across but it was about my own sense humour.

Mozzie image courtesy google.
Mozzie image courtesy google.

The perfect democrat from the roadside mugs to the classic demitasse, known as coffee the social binder, suggested that I could have a morning discussing high finance, high state common gossip and low comedy after that was what happened over the second and third cups of coffee, the warmer of tongues and soberer of minds and stimulant of wit….

“Hail the panache for all the illness of the Idiots” declared the wizard of Id,

“Not really “replied Mozzie

“Who is this and where have it come from

”I created her” replied the wizard of Id

“You did? Well, I thought what happened was enigma gave paradox and hey presto appeared.”

“That too, but  the wizard that I am, I am the most powerful wizard and at my command are the powers of espresso, cappuccino and mocha, which are stronger than all the religions of the world combined, and perhaps stronger than the human soul itself. After, all I have harnessed this from there.””

Queen Ma-hmm doodle by Parwati Singari
Queen Ma-hmm doodle by Parwati Singari

Mozzie turned looked through his glasses at my companion, who made me feel very uncomfortable, “Who might you be?”

“I am the great spirit of humour and have just encountered violent opposition from weaker minds; hence I am camouflage to satire.”

“Yeah I know like I go to my Tuesday safe home on Wednesday”

The three of them now took an oath…. with this coffee cup as my witness,

Caffeine is my shepherd; I shall not doze.

It  maketh me to wake in the green pastures,

It leadeth me beyond the sleeping masses,

It restoreth my buzz

It leadeth me in the paths of consciousness for its name’s sake.

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of addiction

I will fear no equal.

For though I walk through the valley of the shadow of addiction,

I will fear no equal

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

