The scent of life…

image courtesy internet

image courtesy internet

Blogadda invites us to ways of making our home odour free, but then they are referring to odour but odour is just a distinctive smell, of course we usually associate it with unpleasant and again unpleasant is a social understanding.

Physiology of smell is very simple https://corporatehealthtrainer.wordpress.com/2013/08/12/sniff-sniff-take-a-whiff/

Odours have a power of persuasion stronger than that of words, appearances, emotions, or will. The persuasive power of an odour cannot be fended off, it enters into us like breath into our lungs, it fills us up, imbues us totally. There is no remedy for it.”
― Patrick SüskindPerfume: The Story of a Murderer

I remember my brother loved going to a friend’s house because the house smelled of warm food cooking. Another of my friend loved collapsing into a huge armchair, because the chair had the smell of tobacco which made her feel that she was with her father, he had just passed away. For me the mild fragrance of sandalwood and lavender is so comforting because it reminds me of my grandmother.

ambipurI do not- know if you remember this story from Hitopadesha where this woman has her friend coming to stay so she clears the room and adds in jasmine fragrance, but the friend is unable to sleep, because the friend is a fisherwoman and she is comfortable with the smell of fish.

The issue is basically about smelling fresh and stale it is not about being odourless. Not as if it was haunted by ghosts of dead cookies, lizards, or as if it were the rats’ restroom!

But winding up the house my grandparents lived before, was traumatic, it was like nothing else subsists from the past, after the people have moved, after the things are broken and scattered, the smells and tastes of things remain poised a long time like souls, bearing resiliently on tiny and almost impalpable drops of their essence the immense edifice of memory.

What is now called for is a clean sweep, a de-odourization, before re-odourization, for, to me, living is capturing the essence of things, I go through my life everyday with a vial, a vial wherein precious essential oils of every kind can be found. The priceless fragrant oils that are the essence of my experience and thoughts. I walk inside a different realm from everybody else, I capture the essence of a feeling or a thought and once I have inhaled that aroma I know I have what I need.ambipur2

The fragrance of white tea is the feeling of existing the mist that float over waters, the scent of peony is the scent of absence of negativity, a lack of confusion, doubt and darkness to, smell a rose is to teach your soul to skip, a nut and wood together is a walk over fallen autumn leaves, the touch of jasmine is the night’s dream under the nomad’s moon.

Welcome to the world of Odour, the fragrance,  as for keeping house smell fresh and haunted by the ghosts of dead cookies… https://parwatisingari.wordpress.com/2015/06/18/taming-the-stink-monster/

“I am blogging for #SmellyToSmiley activity atBlogAdda.com in association with Ambi Pur

Leave a Reply

