No Kidding—Travelling with kids.

No Kidding—Travelling with kids.

I am just back from Hyderabad, and my co-passengers were a young couple travelling with a seven year old daughter and a 11 year old son.

The kids were rather restless being cooped up within the train. I gave them my laptop and let them play a game each, while one played I drew the other’s attention to the various stuff outside the train.  That kept them totally occupied after about half an hour they could keep themselves occupied and discover new vista’s in their life.

I did wonder how we managed this phase of the kids, considering my kids are now young adults. To tell you the truth I didn’t quite a few holidays they were packed off to my mother’s house. she is their biggest toy, friend, entertainment, and ultimate authority on discipline. Yes I am jealous, of that bond and my daughters promise that I will that bond with their daughters. There is always hope.

Back to travelling with kids.

Travelling with kids is quite a bit of fun if we do not micromanage them, nor peddle our version of fun on them.

Luckily for me both daughters were loved trying out new things and were quite friendly.  So ensuring a stress free holiday meant I had take a few precautions. For long journey I would pack a story book and toy for both of them. My husband let them experiment with the camera at a very young age. I suggested that they kept a journal of the trip so that they could share it with “ammamma” that put them on the observation mode.

If we leave the children alone, they tend to bond with other kids in the vicinity creating their own equation and enjoying it.

There are some moments that i can never forget when it comes to travelling with my kids, actually there are moments from each trip.

Another thing I realized that what interests a child is very individualistic. Fortnight ago my nephew was here he is all of seven years, he quietly came upto me and told me “nange, bere Goa nodbeku” I really did not follow what this “other ”Goa that he wanted to see was, it turned out that wanted to see the Goa that his friends would not see, so I took him on the barge, he was so thrilled, he kept asking the passengers so many questions as to did they travel every day, how did they get into a bust afterwards. The next destination that I took him was the ancestral Goa better known as Bigfoot, again the lifestyle of Goa a century ago totally fascinated him.

My own older daughter is again very curious about life and living, when we travelled to Kurukshetra she wanted to cook in the tandoor, and she was about seven  or eight the dabbewallah did allow her to roast a tandoor, he even allowed her to pat one she was so thrilled. That was the high light of her trip.

While for my younger daughter who is more into adventure tried parasailing.

This was when my older daughter was all of eight months old. Those days we had to take the bus from Manipal, get down at Honnavar and a smaller bus would take us over the bridge and we would get into the next bus. travelling with a baby meant carrying lot of stuff, I would be struggling she would sleep all the way till we reached the bus, and suddenly wake up when we arrived at the transit point full of pep, gurgling at everyone flashing the most enchanting smile, she would have the driver and the conductor of the bus floored, they would actually cart my stuff for me, while i could peacefully handle the child.

Then was another trip from Goa to Dharwad, my brother-in-law and husband had our year old daughter with them, while my sister-in-law and I were in another compartment. The railway cops interrogated both the men, until they came over to our compartment and confirmed that we were very much there.

When we went touring Delhi, at point my three old, just sat on the floor and declared, “I no go, indida house, she no come my house” or she looked Indira

Actually if someone asked how to ensure that the kids enjoy themselves I would say, let them choose their activity that activity should be something new, with a very small risk element in a new location.  Do not hover or oversee.

http://membership.clubmahindra.com/TeddyTravelogues/index.html.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

