Nam ‘at….yoo!

shammi plinky 2Nam ‘at….yoo!

Do I know the meaning of my name, and why my parents chose it? Does it suit me? What about my children’s name, whoa! Plinky ,are you playing 20 questions?

Reminds of Neil Gaimans, book Coraline.

“What’s you name.” Coraline asked the cat,’ look, I’m Coraline, okay?’

“Cats don’t have names,”it said.

“No?”Asked corallineCoraline.

“No,” said the cat.”Now you people have names. That’s because you don’t know who you are. We know who we are, so we don’t need names.”

Apparently one day President Roosevelt told Winston Churchill that he was asking publicly for suggestions about what the then war should be called. And Churchill promptly replied “The Unnecessary war”

Forget my name, your name, whatever, I read in a book once, that a rose by another name would smell just as sweet, but it is kind of difficult to accept. I cannot accept that a rose would be just as nice if we called it a thistle or a skunk cabbage!

Have you ever wondered why hurricanes have names? T o keep the killing personal, No one cares about a bunch of people being killed by a number, just imagine”200 dead as number three slams the ashore” this not nearly as interesting as a headline going, “Charlie kills, 200” somehow personalizing death seem to make it more satisfying and entertaining.  Imagine  a hurricane called ”Hurricane Ed .” old Ed down the street would not hurt like Katrina did, Katrina sounds like the leftover from the vengeance spilling KGB. But old Ed, kind of sounds friendly,” Hell we ain’t evacuatin. Ed’s comin.”

Look around, there are women named, Faith, Hope, Joy or Prudence, yes even Perpetutua  and Conceptutua.. but, Despair, Guilt, Rage and Grief? With the current environment it seems perfectly right. Visualize this,

George saying,” tom, I’d like you to meet the girl of my dreams, Tragedy” these days Trajedi.

But beware Names have power, as for me, I firmly believe  It ain’t what they call you, it’s what you answer to.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

