morum emendatione,

Imagewhat is my worst quality?

My fatal flaw?  Or should I say my worst flaw.? My flaw is best kept a secret, I know secrets are of two kinds, the one you want to keep a secret, and the other you don’t dare let out, well my flaw is tagged with both.

Like Jane Austen, I have faults enough, but they are not, I hope, of understanding. My temper I dare not vouch for. It is, I believe, too little yielding – certainly too little for the convenience of the world. I cannot forget the follies and vices of others so soon as I ought, nor their offenses against myself. My feelings are not puffed about with every attempt to move them. My temper would perhaps be called resentful. My good opinion once lost, is lost forever.

At the end of the day, We are all flawed creatures, all of us, some of them think that means we should fix our flaws. I myself am made entirely of flaws, stitched together with good intentions.  But get rid of my flaws and there would be no one left!

There sometimes, i react to making mistakes as if I have betrayed myself. My fear of making a mistake seems to be based on the hidden assumption that I am potentially perfect and that if I can just be very careful I will not fall from heaven. But a mistake is the declaration of the way I am, a jolt to the way I intend, a reminder I am not dealing with facts. When I have listened to my mistakes I have grown.

I think Mark Twain puts its best, when he says, everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody.

Yet it is the dark side we all need to look into in our nature. That’s where the energy is, the passion people are afraid of that because it holds pieces of us we’re busy denying.

As i was fixing my flaws, I read Norman Walsh and realized, yes we are making a mockery of God, we are saying that God, made inherently imperfect being, and then have demanded of them to be perfect or face damnation. You saying then that, somewhere several thousand years into the world’s experience, he relented, saying that from then on we didn’t necessarily have to be good, we simply had to feel bad when we were not being good, and accept as our savior the One Being who could always be perfect, thus God satisfies his hunger for perfection. We are saying that the Son Of God—who we call the One Perfect One—has saved us from our own imperfection – imperfection that God gave us. In other words God saved us from what his father did.!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

