Roads nae taken.

plinky road less travelledThe road less travelled,

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.”
― Robert Frost

Well if Plinky wants me to go into my past, to point where I had to make a big decision. And write about the alternate life that could have unfolded, how does it become a road less travelled? It is a road not travelled by me.  The hardest thing about the road not taken is that I never know where it might have led!

When it comes to choices it is not hard to decide what you want your life to be about. What’s hard is figuring out what you’re willing to give to do things you really care about.  The problem absolutely simply put,  we cannot choose everything simultaneously. So we live in the danger of becoming paralyzed by indecision, terrified that every choice might be the wrong choice.”

When we obsess over making decisions, we are basically assuming that the universe will reward us for one thing and punish us for the other. Yet the Universe seems to have no fixed agenda, once a decision is make it works round that decision. There is no right or wrong, only a series of possibilities that shift with each though feeling and action we experience.

It could sound, escapism, mystic or whatever, but when you do take a decision, notice your body, every significant vital sign, the body temperature, heart rate, oxygen intake, hormone, brain activity it alters.  It is a signal that your body-mind and soul gives the environment to move in a particular direction.

Crying about things, it’s all right in its own way while it lasts. But you have to stop sooner or later, and then you still have to decide what to do.

I know people who claim that decisions were made for them against their wishes. Well, at the end of the day decision to let someone else make the decision was also yours.

If I were to choose another stream of career, instead of the challenges I face today I would have faced another set of challenges. If I were to marry another man instead of the one I married I would have a different family but interpersonal dynamics would still have to be handled.

At the end of the there is no point in what might have been, the point is what is, and what we do with what it

Remember the ABBA  song Fernando

There’s no regret

If I had to do the same again

I would , my friend, Fernando.

 

2 thoughts on “Roads nae taken.

Add yours

  1. Crying about things, it’s all right in its own way while it lasts. But you have to stop sooner or later, and then you still have to decide what to do. – That’s the best line of the post for me…

    Superb one as usual… Completely agree.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

