Tak’ caur.

plinky sick in bedIf I am unwell would I allow others to take care of me? Or would I prefer to soldier it alone

To me illness is the night side of life, a more onerous citizenship. Everyone who is born holds dual citizenship in the kingdom of the well and in the kingdom of the sick. Although we all prefer to use the good passport, sooner or later each of us is obliged at least for a spell to identify ourselves as the citizen of that other place.

When I am sick, i am exercising my alternate citizenship, I am cranky, snappier than ever, like a bear with a sore head. I would like to left alone, allowed to go about whatever chores I can do, and pretend not to notice what is not done.

I guess it is the intrinsic need to stay in control.

I also realize when people ask how are doing, the truth is they don’t want to know, they are waiting for you to return the courtesy so that they can talk about their sniffles and sneezes.

What does it take for me to ask help?

Help! and loose my superwoman cape? You got be kidding!Superwoman has no weakness except for kryptonite. I call the cavalry only when I am in so shape to ask them to get out and leave me alone.

Leave a Reply

