“Ye respond, if it ye please.”

eavesdropping

The wonderful chat room in my ear, where people whisper to share their opinions and experiences only to me buzzed, as I wondered how I would tackle this one,

Ha!! Celebrations, I wondered with the what first, for the who was more of challenge, but let’s be honest,

Come here; let me share a bit of wisdom with you.
Have you given much thought to our mortal condition?
Probably not. Why would you? Well, listen.
All mortals owe a debt to death.
There’s no one alive
who can say if he will be tomorrow.
Our fate moves invisibly! A mystery.
No one can teach it, no one can grasp it.
Accept this! Cheer up! Have a drink!
But don’t forget Aphrodite–that’s one sweet goddess.
You can let the rest go. Am I making sense?
I think so. How about a drink.
Put on a garland. I’m sure
the happy splash of wine will cure your mood.
We’re all mortal you know. Think mortal.
Because my theory is, there’s no such thing as life,
it’s just catastrophe.
― Anne CarsonGrief Lessons: Four Plays

…. After a biopsy, and a near fatal burn accident, I do agree with what Anne Carson had to say. “In life one has a choice to take one of the two paths, to wait for some special day—or to celebrate each special day.”Rashid Ogunlaru drew my attention as he is right too, my mind drifted to the new sari I had saved for an occasion, and when I came out of surgery I decided to drape it for the celebration is now and here.

“After all”added Jarod Kintz,”the year you were born marks only your entry into the world, other years where you prove your worth they are the ones worth celebrating.”

Who will I invite?

“I hate these affairs “said, Melinda Cross tearing up the engraved invitation samples I had. It was for an exclusive charity ball, I was toying with idea to celebrate my father’s birthday’ “they are the worst kind of decimation. An invitation does not really mean that you’re invited; it means that a whole lot people are not!”“

, “well sweetheart, have a bash, nothing annoys people so much as not receiving invitations” Oscar Wilde, retorted, true to his Machiavellian thought. Peering over his glasses, as if his beard was romancing his clavicle, Abraham Joshua Herschel reflected “people of our times are losing the power of celebration. Instead of celebrating we seek to be amused or entertained. Celebration is an active state, an act of expressing reverence or appreciation. To be entertained is a passive state—it is to receive pleasure afforded by an amusing act or a spectacle… celebration is a confrontation, giving attention to the transcendent meaning of one’s action.”

“Naah”retorted Robert Farrar Capon, “grace is the celebration of life, relentlessly, bounding all the non-celebrants in the world. It is floating cosmic bash shouting its way through the streets of the universe swinging the sweetness of its cassations to every window pounding every door in a hilarity beyond all liking and happening until the prodigals come out at last and dance, and the elder brothers finally take their fingers out of their ears.’indiblogger v-chat

The buzz of the chat faded as decided to celebrate life, with my family, in the present, at home revealing in whatever is available. Just an afterthought, the Chinese used gunpowder to make fireworks for celebrations, and the white man came along and said holy shit; we use this to kill people. What better way to celebrate than that?

WeChat’s Youtube channel.

 

Leave a Reply

