torrent of tears

Gonnae-no greetin’ ur i’ll gie ye somethin’ tae greit abit.

When did I last shed tears?

ImageTears of joy, tears of sorrow what were they.

Tears the secretion of the lacrimal glands, that pour into our eyes to keep it moist, to keep it cleansed and during high emotional bursts. Interestingly. The composition of the lacrimal secretion when we are emotionally charged is very neonatal.

There people who say don’t be ashamed to weep;  its right to grieve tears are only water and flowers, and fruits cannot grow without water. But there must be sunlight also. A wounded heart will heal in time and when it does the memory and love of our lost ones are sealed inside to comfort us.

We were brought up on the dictum that don’t shed tears in public if you have to cry go to the bathroom!

Tears were a sign of weakness. In my married home I discovered the power of tears as a potent blackmailer.

For me tears flow when I am having a hearty laugh. Or when I am angry I mean furious. Bitterness could be like cancer eating up the host but anger is like fire it burns it cleans, and for me the tears shed cools me down. Leaving me free to direct my anger to the problem and not people to focus my energies on answers not excuses.

Sometimes I think the first human who hurled an insult instead of a stone was the founder of civilization.

Leave a Reply

