Top of the pops

plinky competitionSince 1579 the word competition that evolved from the Latin competere, grown to a cult. A cult that has divided the world into winners and losers,  after which Law is made by the winner to preserve victory over the loser.

We are now in an environment where competition has become an endemic disorder. Healthy competition is definitely an oxymoron, believe me, competition is only healthy especially when all your competitors are unhealthy, and hopefully sick and absent during the competition

Since the meaning the effort of two or more parties acting independently to secure the business of a third-party by offering the most favourable terms does not make sense here.  Let’s look at our options.

An active demand by two or more organisms or kinds of organisms for some environmental resource in short supply.  My attitude here many times can be summed by Sean Covey’s quote ”Instead of playing to win, I was playing not to loose. It reminds of the story I once heard about two friends being chased by a bear, when one turned to the other and said, I just realized I don’t need to outrun the bear; I only need to outrun you.”

A contest between rivals?

I know for a lot of people competition is a rude yet effective motivation. For me, challenge is. I create my first challenge and keep notching it up. the Jones can lead their lives in peace.

I really like this saying from Rumi ”take someone who doesn’t keep score, who’s not looking to be richer or afraid of losing. Who has not the slightest interest even in his own personality: he’s free.”

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

