Wickedist poem

ImageWickedist poem.*

Poem—the word that debuted in the 15th century  from the Middle French Poeme, from the Latin Poema, from  Greek, poiema, from poienin.—is a noun, that represents a piece of writing that partakes of the nature both speech and son, and that is usually rhythmical and metaphorical.

Poetry is not turning loose of emotion, but an escape from emotion, it is not the expression of personality, but an escape from personality. But, of course, only those who have personality and emotions would know what it means to want to escape from these things says T.S.Eliot. how right!

Actually Robert Frost says it right. A poem begins as a lump in the throat, a sense of wrong of wrong, homesickness a love sickness.

Asking me to choose my favourite poem, well it is difficult, the first among equals for me is a poem by G.K. Chesterton called the parody of a donkey.

THE DONKEY

by: G.K. Chesterton

WHEN fishes flew and forests walked

And figs grew upon thorn,

Some moment when the moon was blood

Then surely I was born;

With monstrous head and sickening cry

And ears like errant wings,

The devil’s walking parody

On all four-footed things.

The tattered outlaw of the earth,

Of ancient crooked will;

Starve, scourge, deride me: I am dumb,

I keep my secret still.

Fools! For I also had my hour;

One far fierce hour and sweet:

There was a shout about my ears,

And palms before my feet.

What draws me to this particular poem, is that, the donkey which is so ridiculed was the carrier of Christ, from before his death. The only journey where the donkey didn’t carry him was to the cross.

Wickedist poem.(favourite poem by Da Ali G translation.)

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

