on dreams and nightmares

What was the last dream or nightmare that I remember and what do I think about it.

This is an invitation to a nightmare, for I am now working on the dream journal. That is to document the lucid dream memory!

The way i look at it, dreams are necessary to life. and like John Lennon I believe in everything until its disproved. So I believe in fairies, the myth is, dragons. It all exists even if its in your mind. Who is to say that dreams and nightmares aren’t as real as they are here and now?

William Dement is right when he says “dreaming permits each and every one of us to be quietly and safely insane every night of our lives.”

In a way we have nightmares because we run away from what we feel. To deny is to invite madness to accept is to control.

There is something about those heart-hammering nightmares that start to lose coherence even as we are waking up from them, but they still manage to leave their mouldering fingerprints all cross our day.

I’ll take the dream I had last night,
And put it in my freezer,
So someday long and far away,
When I’m an old grey greezer,
I’ll take it out and thaw it out,
This lovely dream I’ve frozen,
And boil it up and sit me down
And dip my old cold toes in.
~Shel Silverstein

 

Aside

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Dreams Of False Hopes Or Nightmares Of False Truths? | An Evil Nymph's Blog

Leave a Reply

