Tempus Viator

“If one can travel through time, fate needn’t be absolute.”

― Robert Appleton, Prehistoric Clock

Time Machine

If I could travel through time what period would I visit?

Aren’t we doing it all the time, I mean travelling in time, to visit the destinations where our innocence got worldly-wise and our ego a trifle bruised? After all memory is as close to as we can get to building our time machines.

This is what I say, good news is don’t have to worry you can’t change the past. Bad news? You don’t have to worry, no matter how hard you can’t change the past. The universe just doesn’t put with it. To quote Charles Yu, How to live safely in a Science Fictional Universe “We aren’t important enough. No one is. Even in our own lives. We aren’t strong enough wilful enough, skilled enough in chronodiegetic manipulation to be able to just accidentally change the entire course of anything even ourselves.”

Still I would like to travel to that moment that defined the present me, and for this I need the consent of the future me.

It would mean travelling down the memory lane and raising my head, to see an EXIT sign and my eyes strain to see the tiger thoughts and cruel cavemen relatives with long spears and barbed tongue, wolfish dogs. My heart racing with excitement and exit strategy as I spot the EXIT sign and I think “holy shit this was my stone age,” a render it ineffective.

Toba Beta (My Ancestor Was an Ancient Astronaut) says “war between free-will and predestination makes the idea of time travel still too difficult to digest”

Of course not Toba Beta – Have some on to meet you at the airport ten the morning, Washington time, when you have taken a plane that left Los Angeles at 10.10 AM Los Angeles time, isn’t that time-reversal?

Cross the international dateline and viola you have gained or lost a day, that my buddy is time travel.

To sum up all the verbose stuff above, if I were to time travel I would stay put in the present with no past haunting me, or future intimidating me.

Powered by Plinky

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

