Mi Amigo

ImageWhat qualities do I value the most in friends?

If we are talking about the facebook kinds, then the parameter would be school, sorority, in short anyone who enters my space without disturbing my harmony. I guess that is the verb form of the word, friend-ed? Can’t  figure what is wrong with the good old befriended.

A word of before 900 Middle English origin, friend, frend Old English freondà friend, lover, relative (i.e. old Saxon friund, old high German fruint, gothic frijonds) original a present participle of freogan, cognate with Gothic frijon to love.

My friends and what I value about them –

 Dr. Samuel Johnson (1709 – 1784) observes that we cannot tell the precise moment when friendship formed. As in a vessel drop by drop, there is at last a drop which makes it run over; so in a series of kindness there is at last one which makes the heart run over. How right! many of my friendships just manifested this way.

Like Lois Wyse (1926-2007) observed a good friend is a connection to life, a tie to the past, a road to the future, the key to sanity in a totally insane world. Thanks for being such a friend Manoj.

A true friend freely, advises justly. Assists readily, adventures boldly, and takes all patiently. Defends courageously and continues a friend unchangeably says William Penn (1644-1718) Thanks for being such a friend Jyothi.

Nupur, Swati Chopra, Archana and Archana thanks of being in my space and enriching it.

One thing I learnt from all friends is that a true friend does get in your way unless you are going down.

Just an addendum, the Hindu marriage vows saptapadi,  goes sakhyebhyo saptapadebava sama manovro bhava. Through the first six the vows are about sharing and with the seventh step we become friends, the chant after this promise explains that friendship is possible  only between equals.

Don’t walk behind me; I may not lead. Don’t walk in front of me; I may not follow. Just walk beside me and be my friend.
Albert Camus

Leave a Reply

