couch potato

ImageHow much of Television do I watch each week?

Television watching has never been much of my forte of activity.

Earlier it used to be zilch. I was brought up in an environment where watching television was decadent and a cardinal sin. My mother probably took her lessons from Ray Bradbury and taught us – the television. That insidious beast, that medusa which freezes a billion people to stone every night staring fixedly, that siren which called and sang and promised so much and gave, after all, so little.! Had best be left alone.

During my recovery I was hooked on.

One thing I never figured out has been beautifully summed up by Rod Serling how can you put on a meaningful drama when, every fifteen minutes proceedings are interrupted by twelve dancing rabbits with toilet paper? This great challenge has kept me away from the family drama scene.

One show that I consistently watch are the whodunits, from CID to Sherlock, CSI, criminal minds, white-collar, castle, missing, spooks, but it is one show for the day. I utilize this hour to finish my cooking as the TV is visible from my kitchen.

I do watch the Sunday movie while catching up with mount Iron-all.

How has my TV habits changed over time?

The biggest change is once a while I do sit watch something with my family without multitasking and I do not feel guilty about it.

By the way Jerome singer has a point when you say If you came and you found a strange man…teaching your kids to punch each other, or trying to sell them all kinds of products, you’d kick him right out of the house, but here you are; you come in and the TV is on, and you don’t even thing about it twice about it.

I find television to be very educating.  Every time somebody turns on the set, I go in the other room and read a book.  ~Groucho Marx

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

