MIRUS!

ImageTo share a story about someone I admire, I need to identify the people who I genuinely admire, Christ that means I need to know what admire actually means.

This word has its origin in the French word admirer that means marvel at which in turn has its origin in the Latin word admirari which is a fusion of ad+mirari and mirari has evolved from mirus that means ASTONISHING!

How extra-ordinary.

The synonyms are appreciated, consider, esteem, regard, respect.

Let’s put the data together to admireto regard with wonder or astonishment; to view with surprise to marvel at. To view with an elevated feeling of pleasure as something which calls out approbation, esteem, love or reverence to estimate or prize highly, as to admire moral worth, to admire a landscape, to affect with surprise—sometimes with.

I admire the complexity of the word, incidentally it always seems strange to me; the things we admire in men, kindness and generosity, openness honesty, understanding and feeling are all collaterally connected to the failure in our system, and the traits we detest i.e. sharpness, greed, acquisitiveness, meanness egotism and self-interest are the traits of success. While we admire the quality of the first they love the produce of the second.

Look at Hillary Clinton, CNN found that she is the most admired woman in America; women admired her because she’s strong and successful. Men admire her because she allows her husband to cheat and get away with It.—this was shared by Jay Leno.

As for me I am with  W.H.Auden,  when he states among those whom I like or admire, I can find no common denominator, but among those whom I love, I can: all them make me laugh.

I would admire someone who does good work, but also has a life of her own. Someone who loves her job, but, at the end of the day comes home and watches’s a movie and shares a bottle of wine with her husband.

Admire a small ship, but put your freight in a large one; for the larger the load, the greater will be the profit upon profit.–Hesiod

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

